Round 13 preview: Victory v Jets


Melbourne Victory plays its first Hyundai A-League home game of 2019 when it welcomes the Newcastle Jets to AAMI Park on Saturday.


Victory’s nine-match unbeaten run was ended with a 2-0 loss to Adelaide United last time out.

But it gets a quick chance to return to winning ways when it hosts the Jets in Round 13.

Round 13 tickets

Victory had its chances against the Reds, particularly in the second half, with Terry Antonis going closest when the midfielder hit the crossbar.

But Victory was held goalless in a league game for the first time since April 2018.

Ola Toivonen’s run of having scored or assisted in each of his Hyundai A-League appearances also came to an end.

But the Swedish striker has been in fine form this season, netting seven times and providing two assists.

The Adelaide clash also saw Elvis Kamsoba, 22, make his Hyundai A-League debut, with the attacker producing a lively display.

Keisuke Honda (hamstring), Georg Niedermeier (calf) and Nick Ansell (hamstring) missed the trip to Coopers Stadium and are set to be sidelined again.

Victory has won its past three home meetings against the Jets and enters the round in the second on the table.

Heading into the clash, Newcastle is winless in three matches and sits seventh.

Player in focus

Last time

Hyundai A-League 2018/19 Round 3
Newcastle Jets 0-1 Melbourne Victory
Saturday, November 3, 2018
McDonald Jones Stadium, Newcastle

The win over the Jets started Victory’s unbeaten run.

Antonis scored with a superb 20-yard effort and it was all that separated the teams in Newcastle.

As it stands

Head to head

Round 3, 2018/19: Jets 0-1 Victory at McDonald Jones Stadium
Grand Final, 2017/18: Jets 0-1 Victory at McDonald Jones Stadium
Round 19, 2017/18: Jets 2-0 Victory at McDonald Jones Stadium
Round 13, 2017/18: Victory 2-1 Jets at AAMI Park
Round 8, 2017/18: Jets 4-1 Victory at McDonald Jones Stadium

Match details

Melbourne Victory v Newcastle Jets
AAMI Park, Melbourne
Saturday, January 12, 2019
Kick-off: 7.50pm AEDT

Melbourne Victory squad: 1.Matt ACTON (GK), 2.Storm ROUX, 3.Corey BROWN, 6.Leigh BROXHAM, 7.Kenny ATHIU, 8.Terry ANTONIS, 9.Kosta BARBAROUSES, 10.James TROISI, 11.Ola TOIVONEN, 13.Birkan KIRDAR, 14.Tommy DENG, 15.Raul BAENA, 16.Josh HOPE, 19.Rahmat AKBARI, 20.Lawrence THOMAS (GK), 21.Carl VALERI (C), 24.Elvis KAMSOBA, 25.Anthony LESIOTIS
**two to be omitted**

Ins: 13.Birkan KIRDAR (promoted), 25.Anthony LESIOTIS (promoted)
Outs: Nil
Unavailable: Jai INGHAM (quad – TBC), Keisuke HONDA (Hamstring – 4 weeks), Nick ANSELL (Hamstring – TBC), Georg NIEDERMEIER (Calf – TBC)

Round 13 tickets