Round 15 preview: Adelaide v Victory


Melbourne Victory looks to bounce back when it visits Adelaide United in the Hyundai A-League on Friday.


Victory’s three-match unbeaten run came to an end in a 3-2 loss to the Central Coast Mariners.

It led twice in Gosford before a pair of penalties in additional time from Matt Simon saw the Mariners edge Victory.

Victory gets a chance to respond when it makes the trip to Coopers Stadium.

Carlos Salvachua will take charge of Victory for the first time after replacing Marco Kurz as head coach until the end of the season.

Kristijan Dobras scored his second Hyundai A-League goal of the season in the loss to the Mariners, but Victory fell short late on.

Victory had collected seven points from the three games prior to facing Central Coast, including impressive wins over City and the Newcastle Jets.

It could regain captain Ola Toivonen from injury after the forward missed the matches against the Jets and Mariners.

The Swedish forward has scored seven goals in 11 Hyundai A-League matches this season.

Victory has lost its past three meetings with Adelaide, which comes into the clash on the back of four straight defeats.

Player in focus

Last time

Hyundai A-League 2019/20 Round 7
Adelaide United 3-1 Melbourne Victory
Saturday, November 23, 2019
Coopers Stadium, Adelaide

Victory fell to Adelaide in their first meeting this season.

Toivonen cancelled out Riley McGree’s opener, but the Reds midfielder struck again after Michael Maria’s goal.

As it stands

Head to head

Round 7, 2019/20: Adelaide 3-1 Victory at Coopers Stadium
Round 26, 2018/19: Adelaide 1-0 Victory at Coopers Stadium
Round 12, 2018/19: Adelaide 2-0 Victory at Coopers Stadium
Round 7, 2018/19: Victory 2-0 Adelaide at Marvel Stadium
Elimination Final, 2017/18: Victory 2-1 Adelaide at AAMI Park

Match details

Adelaide United v Melbourne Victory
Coopers Stadium, Adelaide
Friday, January 17, 2020
Kick-off: 7.30pm AEDT

Melbourne Victory squad: 2.Storm ROUX, 4.James DONACHIE, 6.Leigh BROXHAM, 7.Kenny ATHIU, 8.Jakob POULSEN, 9.Andrew NABBOUT, 10.Robbie KRUSE, 11.Ola TOIVONEN, 16.Josh HOPE, 17.Elvis KAMSOBA, 18.Migjen BASHA, 19.Ben CARRIGAN, 20.Lawrence THOMAS (gk), 21.Adama TRAORE, 22.Kristijan DOBRAS, 24.Anthony LESIOTIS, 25.Brandon LAUTON, 26.Jay BARNETT, 50.Brendan WHITE (gk)
**1-3 to be omitted**

Ins: 11.Ola TOIVONEN (return from injury), 25.Brandon LAUTON (promoted), 19.Ben CARRIGAN (promoted)
Outs:  3.Corey BROWN (released)
Unavailable: 1.Matt ACTON (shoulder), 14.Thomas DENG (international duty) 5.Tim HOOGLAND (knee)

Josh Hope squad