Six named in PFA 2014/15 Team of the Season


Melbourne Victory Football Club’s 2014/15 Premiership-Championship double has been further acknowledged with the announcement of the Professional Footballers Australia (PFA) Team of the Season.

Voted on by the PFA’s A-League members, Melbourne Victory head coach Kevin Muscat was named coach of the season while five players were named in the 16-man squad, with three in the first XI.

Mark Milligan (midfield), Matthieu Delpierre (defence) and Fahid Ben Khalfallah (forward) were named in the XI, while team-mates Besart Berisha and Gui Finkler were named as substitutes.

Milligan’s selection, for the third consecutive year, capped off another strong season which culminated in winning the Joe Marston Medal for best afield in the Hyundai A-League 2015 Grand Final.

Melbourne Victory CEO Ian Robson was delighted to have such a strong representation from the club in the team. 

“The selection of the five Melbourne Victory players and Kevin as coach of the PFA Team of the Season is testament to the stellar season they all enjoyed in 2014/15,” Robson said. 

“We welcomed Fahid, Matthieu and Besart into the Melbourne Victory family for the first time in 2014/15, so it is extremely pleasing that these three players had such impressive debut seasons for our club.

“Mark led our club from the front with such professionalism, while Gui has been rewarded for a very consistent season by earning his first selection in the PFA team.”

The 2014/15 PFA A-League Team of the Season

Goalkeeper: Eugene Galekovic (c) (Adelaide United)

Defenders: Tarek Elrich (Adelaide United), Matthieu Delpierre (Melbourne Victory), Andrew Durante (Wellington Phoenix), Scott Jamieson (Perth Glory) 

Midfielders: Mark Milligan (Melbourne Victory), Aaron Mooy (Melbourne City), Marcelo Carrusca (Adelaide United)

Forwards: Fahid Ben Khalfallah (Melbourne Victory), Marc Janko (Sydney FC), Nathan Burns (Wellington Phoenix)

Substitutes: Danny Vukovic (Perth Glory), Nigel Boogaard (Adelaide United), Milos Dimitrijevic (Sydney FC), Besart Berisha (Melbourne Victory), Gui Finkler (Melbourne Victory)

Coach: Kevin Muscat (Melbourne Victory)

Referee: Strebre Delovski