Spiranovic and Gummer sign on


Melbourne Victory has made two more signings to bolster its W-League roster, with Laura Spiranovic and Alexandra Gummer returning for 2017/2018.

It will be Spiranovic’s sixth season with Victory; the 25-year-old one of the most experienced players in the squad.

“I’ve just got a feeling about her this year,” W-League head coach Jeff Hopkins said.

“Physically she’s taken great strides, she’s stayed injury free and there’s no doubting her ability.

“I’m hoping for a real big season for her this year.

Spiranovic currently captains her NPL side in Geelong, with the additional leadership highly valued.

“We’ve got a few young and inexperienced players within the squad and in and around them you need leaders.

“We have people that will organise and make everyone around them accountable.”

Meanwhile Gummer returns for her second season with Victory after making seven appearances in 2016/2017.

Gummer spent two seasons at Adelaide United before crossing to Victory and strengthens a defence already containing the likes of Laura Alleway and Angela Beard.

“She gives us versatility, players who can play in a couple of positions are really important for us,” Hopkins said.

In battling back from injury last season, Gummer showcased her willingness to put in the hard yards.

“She worked really hard to get back for the second half of the season,” Hopkins explained.

“When she came in, to her credit she performed really well while she was working back to match fitness and gave us quality performances.”

“She’s an experienced player that reads the game well and very strong, tough to play against.

“She’s a real team player and very popular around the team, bringing good leadership qualities to the group and that’s very important to us.”

There is just one month until the W-League season begins, with Victory hosting Canberra United at Epping Stadium on Saturday, October 28.

Current Melbourne Victory W-League squad

Laura Alleway, Melina Ayres, Mindy Barbieri, Angela Beard, Kyra Cooney-Cross, Casey Dumont (GK), Alexandra Gummer, Gulcan Koca, Annabel Martin, Bethany Mason-Jones (GK), Laura Spiranovic