Thompson, Leijer, Geria named in extended Victory squad


Melbourne Victory has made three additions to its squad for Sunday’s Hyundai A-League clash with Perth Glory at nib Stadium.

Archie Thompson, Adrian Leijer and Jason Geria all come in to an extended 18-man squad for the trip across the Nullarbor, with two to be omitted.

Captain Mark Milligan is unavailable due to international commitments, while injured defender Matthieu Delpierre also remains sidelined.

Thompson and Geria missed Melbourne Victory’s 2-1 win over Western Sydney Wanderers on January 6 – the team’s last game before the mid-season break – due to injury concerns.

Leijer returns from a one-match suspension, handing Head Coach Kevin Muscat a selection headache as third-placed Melbourne Victory looks to narrow the gap to Glory at the top of the table.

Perth is four points clear on top, having scored in each of its past 11 matches, and defeated Melbourne Victory 2-1 at Geelong’s Simonds Stadium last time the sides met earlier in January.

But Melbourne Victory boasts a strong record in Western Australia, having never failed to score in 14 visits to Perth.

Perth Glory v Melbourne Victory
Sunday, January 25, 5.00pm (local), 8.00pm (AEDT)
nib Stadium, Perth

TV: Live and exclusive coverage on Fox Sports 4 (ch 505) from 8.00pm (AEDT)
Radio: Broadcast on ABC Grandstand Digital Melbourne  

Join the conversation on Twitter using the hashtags #PERvMVC and #10YearsProud

Melbourne Victory squad (two to be omitted): 1.Nathan COE (GK), 2.Jason GERIA, 4.Nick ANSELL, 6.Leigh BROXHAM (c), 7.Gui FINKLER, 8.Besart BERISHA, 9.Kosta BARBAROUSES, 10.Archie THOMPSON, 11.Connor PAIN, 13.Andrew NABBOUT, 14.Fahid BEN KHALFALLAH, 15.Daniel GEORGIEVSKI, 16.Rashid MAHAZI, 20.Lawrence THOMAS (GK), 21.Carl VALERI, 22.Jesse MAKAROUNAS, 23.Adrian LEIJER, 24.Scott GALLOWAY

Ins: 2.Jason GERIA, 10.Archie THOMPSON, 23.Adrian LEIJER
Outs: 18.Dylan MURNANE
Unavailable: 5.Mark MILLIGAN (international duty), 17.Matthieu DELPIERRE (injured)