Victory adds four players for U-NITE on Australia Day


Melbourne Victory has added four players to an extended squad for its blockbuster U-NITE match against Sydney FC at Etihad Stadium on Australia Day.

Tickets for the match are available here.

Jason Geria and Fahid Ben Khalfallah are back from suspension, while Oliver Bozanic and Nick Ansell (both rested) return to the squad for the top-of-the-table clash.

George Howard and Stefan Nigro have dropped out, with two more players to be omitted before kick-off.

Sydney and Victory are first and second respectively on the Hyundai A-League ladder, with the Sky Blues undefeated after 16 rounds this season.

Victory is eight points behind the league leaders, having lost its last two matches against Wellington Phoenix and Perth Glory.

Sydney’s 2-1 win in the most recent edition of the Big Blue ended a nine-game winless streak against Victory.

But Victory remains unbeaten in its past six home games against Sydney (three wins and three draws), having last lost to the Sky Blues at home in 2014.

Both sides lead the Hyundai A-League this season with 36 goals scored apiece, though Sydney has conceded 14 less than Victory.

Tickets for the match are available here.

Hyundai A-League 2016/17 Round 17

Melbourne Victory v Sydney FC
Thursday, January 26, 7.50pm AEDT
Etihad Stadium, Melbourne

TV: Live on Fox Sports 505 from 7.00pm AEDT
Radio: 1116 SEN, ABC Grandstand Online, A-League Live via the ABC Radio app
Online: Join the conversation on social media using #MVCvSYD

Melbourne Victory squad (two to be omitted): 2.Jason GERIA, 4.Nick ANSELL, 5.Daniel GEORGIEVSKI, 6.Leigh BROXHAM, 7.Marco ROJAS, 8.Besart BERISHA, 9.Max BEISTER, 10.James TROISI, 11.Mitch AUSTIN, 13.Oliver BOZANIC, 14.Fahid BEN KHALFALLAH, 15.Alan BARO, 16.Rashid MAHAZI, 17.James DONACHIE, 20.Lawrence THOMAS (gk), 21.Carl VALERI (c), 23.Jai INGHAM, 40.Matt ACTON (gk)

Ins: 2.Jason GERIA (returns from suspension), 4.Nick ANSELL (promoted), 13.Oliver BOZANIC (promoted), 14.Fahid BEN KHALFALLAH (returns from suspension)
Outs: 19.George HOWARD (omitted), 22.Stefan NIGRO (omitted)
Unavailable: Nil