Victory duo named in PFA Team of the Season


Melbourne Victory duo Matthieu Delpierre and Kosta Barbarouses have been named in the Professional Footballers Australia A-League 2015/16 Team of the Season.

Delpierre was named in the centre of defence, while Barbarouses was included as one of five substitutes.

Voted on by all of the PFA’s A-League-based members, the team includes representatives from seven Hyundai A-League clubs.

Brisbane Roar’s Jade North was voted as captain of the team, and Adelaide United’s Guillermo Amor was named as coach.

“On behalf of our members, I would like congratulate all those selected in the Team of the Season,” said PFA chairman Craig Foster.

“The team highlights the incredible playing talent that calls the A-League home and once again demonstrates the ever improving standard on the pitch.”

Victory members and fans were voted by the players as creating the best atmosphere in the Hyundai A-League for the second consecutive season, while Etihad Stadium was voted as best pitch in the competition.

The 2015/16 PFA A-League Team of the Season

Goalkeeper: Thomas Sorensen (Melbourne City)

Defenders: Josh Risdon (Perth Glory), Matthieu Delpierre (Melbourne Victory), Jade North (c) (Brisbane Roar), Scott Jamieson (Western Sydney Wanderers).

Midfielders: Corona (Brisbane Roar), Aaron Mooy (Melbourne City), Diego Castro (Perth Glory)

Forwards: Jamie Maclaren (Brisbane Roar), Bruno Fornaroli (Melbourne City), Harry Novillo (Melbourne City)

Substitutes: Mark Birighitti (Newcastle Jets), Nikolai Topor-Stanley (Western Sydney Wanderers), Mitch Nichols (Western Sydney Wanderers), Roly Bonevacia (Wellington Phoenix), Kosta Barbarouses (Melbourne Victory)

Coach: Guillermo Amor (Adelaide United)

Referee: Strebre Delovski