Victory falls short in E-League finals


Melbourne Victory’s successful E-League season came to an end on Thursday night, with the club falling short of reaching the grand final.

The Premiers exited the finals series prematurely, with both Sarge Singh and Mo Zwed bundled out in the early stages of the night.

Following the first-place regular season finish, Victory booked themselves an automatic spot in the quarter finals.

Mo comfortably took care of his Perth Glory opponent, winning 5-2 on aggregate over the two legs to progress to the semi-final in the XBOX bracket.

Sarge, however, wasn’t as lucky. The PlayStation competitor lost just his second tie of the season, going down 7-2 to his Adelaide United opponent, thus ending his hopes of taking out the top crown.

A Melbourne Derby semi-final resulted in a win for Melbourne City as Australian FIFA representative Marcus Gomes was too strong for Mo. Victory lost the tie 7-0 on aggregate, ending the club’s involvement in season two of the E-League.

Sydney FC eventually took out the title for the second consecutive year.

The efforts of Mo and Sarge, along with substitute Ben Carter, turned Melbourne Victory into an E-League powerhouse this season.

With an E-League Premiership already in the trophy cabinet, the future looks bright for more Victory success.