Victory held by Roar


Besart Berisha marked his return with a goal as Melbourne Victory was held to a 1-1 draw by Brisbane Roar in the Hyundai A-League.


Berisha opened the scoring in the 79th minute in the Remembrance Round clash at Etihad Stadium, only for Brett Holman to earn the Roar a point.

The hosts had looked the more likely throughout and appeared set for a win after Berisha’s goal, but instead had to settle for a fourth consecutive draw.

Victory made two changes to the starting XI that bravely came from behind to draw against the Western Sydney Wanderers.

Berisha made his return from suspension and Leigh Broxham was back from injury, replacing Mark Milligan (international duty) and Mitch Austin (suspended).

It meant a return to the wing for Leroy George as Berisha started up front and Broxham slotted into midfield, in place of Milligan.

After a scrappy start to proceedings, Victory tested Jamie Young in the 10th minute, George firing straight at the goalkeeper from inside the area following a nice team move.

Young was forced into a great save just nine minutes later, pushing away a Broxham header from a George corner.

Brisbane produced its best chances of the first half on the half-hour mark.

Rhys Williams made a last-ditch clearance from an Avraam Papadopoulos header before Lawrence Thomas was called into action to push away a Nick D’Agostino effort.

Victory continued to look the more likely otherwise, George’s 20-yard effort saved by Young in the 35th minute.

The hosts kept pushing to begin the second half, with the lively George shooting wide in the 73rd minute before forcing Young into a strong low save.

But Victory would find a breakthrough just six minutes later.

Substitute Christian Theoharous, 17, did well down the left before his cross was scrambled clear to George, who played in Berisha.

The Hyundai A-League’s all-time leading goalscorer made no mistake with the finish.

However, Brisbane levelled through Holman, who tapped in a Jack Hingert cross from the right.

Victory is next in action with a trip to Perth Glory on Sunday, November 19.


Hyundai A-League 2017/18 Round 6
Melbourne Victory 1
(Besart Berisha 79′)
Brisbane Roar 1 (Brett Holman 84′)

Melbourne Victory: Thomas (gk), Nigro, Williams, Deng, Geria, Valeri (c), Broxham, Sanchez (Theoharous 77′), George, Berisha, Ingham
Brisbane Roar: Young (gk), O’Toole, Papadopoulos, Pepper, Hingert, Caletti, McKay (c), Bautheac (Sawyer 90+1′), D’Agostino (Holman 65′), Skapetis (Akbari 82′), Maccarone

Yellow cards: Skapetis 8′, Valeri 20′, Papadopoulos 23′, Bautheac 38′, Williams 48′, O’Toole 68′
Red cards: Nil
Venue: Etihad Stadium, Melbourne