Victory names squad for Big Blue blockbuster


Melbourne Victory has added two players to an extended squad for Friday night’s Big Blue blockbuster against Sydney FC at Allianz Stadium.

Fahid Ben Khalfallah and George Howard have been promoted to an 18-man squad, with two players to be omitted before kick-off.

Sydney is eight points clear of second-placed Victory with six rounds to go in the Hyundai A-League 2016/17 season.

The Sky Blues have beaten Victory twice already this season, though Kevin Muscat’s men led in both of those encounters.

Victory, on a four-game unbeaten run, defeated Adelaide United 2-1 last week, while Sydney posted a 3-1 win over City.

Friday night’s game will be broadcast live on Fox Sports 505 from 7.00pm AEDT and SBS Viceland from 7.30pm AEDT.

Hyundai A-League 2016/17 Round 22

Sydney FC v Melbourne Victory
Friday, March 3, 7.50pm AEDT
Allianz Stadium, Sydney

TV: Live on Fox Sports 505 from 7.00pm AEDT and SBS Viceland from 7.30pm AEDT
Radio: 1116 SENABC Grandstand
Online: Join the conversation on social media using #SYDvMVC

Melbourne Victory squad (two to be omitted): 2.Jason GERIA, 4.Nick ANSELL, 5.Daniel GEORGIEVSKI, 6.Leigh BROXHAM, 7.Marco ROJAS, 8.Besart BERISHA, 10.James TROISI, 11.Mitch AUSTIN, 13.Oliver BOZANIC, 14.Fahid BEN KHALFALLAH, 15.Alan BARO, 16.Rashid MAHAZI, 17.James DONACHIE, 19.George HOWARD, 20.Lawrence THOMAS (gk), 21.Carl VALERI (c), 23.Jai INGHAM, 40.Matt ACTON (gk)

Ins: 14.Fahid BEN KHALFALLAH (promoted), 19.George HOWARD (promoted)
Outs: Nil
Unavailable: Nil