Victory outclasses Perth for first win


Melbourne Victory claimed its first win of the Hyundai A-League season, beating Perth Glory 2-0 on Sunday.


Besart Berisha and Leroy George scored second-half goals to give Victory a deserved win at nib Stadium.

It marked Victory’s first win of the league campaign, pushing it up to sixth on the table.

Melbourne Victory

Victory made two changes to the starting XI held by Brisbane Roar as Caltex Socceroos Mark Milligan and James Troisi returned, seeing Stefan Nigro and Matias Sanchez drop to the bench.

Leigh Broxham shifted to left-back and Troisi resumed in his customary number 10 role.

Victory made a decent start as Berisha and George almost combined early and Milligan’s drive from distance forced Liam Reddy into a low save.

The visitors continued to push and Troisi almost opened the scoring in the 15th minute, but he scuffed his effort from an angle and Reddy was able to save.

Victory enjoyed the better of the first half-hour and again went close through Berisha, whose header from a clipped Milligan cross hit the post.

Reddy again denied Victory just before half-time, tipping over a Rhys Williams header after a George set-piece.

Glory also threatened prior to the interval as Jacob Italiano hit the side-netting from an angle.

After a sloppy start to the second half, Victory took a deserved lead in the 56th minute.

Jai Ingham was released down the right and his cross eventually fell to Berisha, who tapped in his 16th goal against Perth.

The lead was doubled soon after, Troisi forcing his way through on the left before squaring for George to put away.

Thomas Deng and Ingham had chances to make it 3-0 and Milligan also went close as Victory saw out its win.

Victory has a short turnaround ahead of Round 8, visiting the Newcastle Jets on Thursday, November 23.


Hyundai A-League 2017/18 Round 7
Perth Glory 0
Melbourne Victory 2
(Besart Berisha 56′, Leroy George 67′)

Perth Glory: Reddy (gk), Walker, Grant, Lowry, Mills, Harold (Mallia 64′), Torres, Wilson (Brimmer 64′), Nichols, Keogh (c), Italiano
Melbourne Victory: Thomas (gk), Geria, Deng, Williams, Broxham (Nigro 88′), Valeri (c), Milligan (Sanchez 88′), Troisi, Ingham, Berisha, George (Theoharous 80′)

Yellow cards: Nichols 14′, Broxham 17′
Red cards: Nil
Attendance: 13,565
Venue: nib Stadium, Perth