VIDEO: Muscat names Round 1 squad


Melbourne Victory coach Kevin Muscat has selected his match day squad for the Hyundai A-League season opener on Friday night.

Speaking after training, Muscat said his side would be aggressive from the outset, as it takes on a strong Western Sydney Wanderers outfit at Etihad Stadium.

Muscat said collecting all three points in the Round 1 clash would be a rewarding way to start the season, given the club’s recent opening day form.

“It is disappointing and it frustrates me (that we haven’t won in Round One recently),” Muscat said.

“I think it’s five years now where we haven’t won on the opening day.

“We’ve got to get everything right. Turn up tomorrow with a positive attitude, get on the front foot nice and early. Look up after 90 minutes and hopefully the scoreboard will be in our favour.

“We’ve got a massive game of football that we’ve worked hard for, that’s our sole concern at the moment.”

Muscat said all five of his pre-season recruits may their A-League debut for the club on Friday, with several a chance to make the starting XI.

Melbourne Victory v Western Sydney Wanderers
Friday, October 10, 2014
Etihad Stadium
Kick-off 7:40pm

Broadcast: Live on SBS ONE & Fox Sports 1HD & 1, 774 ABC Melbourne, ABC Local radio Victoria

Referee: Jarred Gillett
Assistant Referee 1: David Walsh
Assistant Referee 2: George Lakrindis
Fourth Official: Lucien Laverdure

Melbourne Victory Round One Squad
1.Nathan COE (GK), 2. Jason GERIA, 6.Leigh BROXHAM (c), 7.Gui FINKLER, 8. Besart BERISHA, 9.Kosta BARBAROUSES, 10. Archie THOMPSON, 11.Connor PAIN, 13.Andrew NABBOUT, 14.Fahid BEN KHALFALLAH, 15. Daniel GEORGIEVSKI, 16.Rashid MAHAZI, 17.Matthieu DELPIERRE, 20.Lawrence THOMAS (GK), 21. Carl VALERI, 22.Jesse MAKAROUNAS, 23. Adrian LEIJER

**One to be omitted**

Ins:  –

Outs: –

Unavailable: 4. Nick ANSELL (foot – 3 weeks), 5. Mark MILLIGAN (international duty), 18. Dylan MURNANE (international duty), 24. Scott GALLOWAY (international duty), 26. Jordan BROWN (international duty)

Secure your seat, click here to purchase tickets now.