W-League report: Victory 2-4 Glory


Melbourne Victory suffered a 4-2 extra-time loss to Perth Glory in a thrilling Westfield W-League Semi Final at AAMI Park on Sunday.


Sam Kerr scored a hat-trick to lead Perth to its win, after Victory had taken a lead and later forced extra time in dramatic fashion.

After Christine Nairn’s opener was cancelled out by Kerr, Grace Maher netted a stoppage-time equaliser for Victory, which had gone behind to a Rachel Hill header.

But Kerr struck twice in extra time and Sam Johnson was sent off for Victory, ending the Premier’s Plate winner’s season.

Victory was given the perfect start thanks to Nairn inside two minutes.

The star midfielder found room down the right after a pass from Emily Gielnik and her effort beat Perth goalkeeper Eliza Campbell at the near post.

Gielnik headed a cross wide from Nairn in the seventh minute before the visitor started to settle.

Victory goalkeeper Casey Dumont had to make saves from Kerr and Hill, the latter denied with a tremendous stop in a one-on-one.

The host went close to a second in the 24th minute, Ella Mastrantonio’s 20-yard effort drawing a save from Campbell.

Both teams had their moments to finish the half, with Victory needing some desperate defending to deny Perth in the 38th minute.

Dumont was replaced at the break by Beth Mason-Jones due to concussion, but the game was a battle to begin the second half.

Perth drew level in the 72nd minute, Kerr putting away a cross from the right from inside the area.

And Glory went ahead with four minutes remaining as Hill headed in a cross from Kerr.

But there was late drama, Victory substitute Maher forcing extra time, flicking in a Laura Alleway header in the 94th minute.

Kerr restored Perth’s lead with a lobbed finish and Victory was reduced to 10 players in extra time when Johnson saw red.

It was Kerr who sealed the Glory’s win, putting away a cutback from Leticia McKenna in the 107th minute.


Westfield W-League 2018/19 Semi Final
Melbourne Victory 2
(Christine Nairn 2′, Grace Maher 90+4′
Perth Glory 4 (Sam Kerr 72’/97’107′, Rachel Hill 86′)