Westfield W-League 2016/17 season draw released


Melbourne Victory will begin its Westfield W-League 2016/17 season on the road against Adelaide United on Sunday, November 7.

The fixture, announced today by Football Federation Australia, will run over 14 rounds, with nine teams from around Australia vying for the title.

Victory plays six home games – four at Lakeside Stadium, one at Epping Stadium and one at AAMI Park.

It will play another game at AAMI Park against Melbourne City in Round 4 as the away team, in the first of two Melbourne Derbies.

Four of Victory’s games will be played as curtain-raisers to Hyundai A-League matches, three of which are interstate, including the season opener.

The club’s home curtain-raiser will be held on Wednesday, December 28 against Canberra United, in the lead-up to the Hyundai A-League match between Victory and Central Coast Mariners at AAMI Park.

Three of Victory’s matches will be broadcast live on Fox Sports and ABC TV – Round 1 against Adelaide, Round 4 against City and Round 9 against Canberra.

Victory will play four teams twice – City, Newcastle Jets, Perth Glory and Canberra.

Each team will have two byes during the season, with Victory to sit out Rounds 8 and 13.

The Semi Finals will be held on February 4 and 5, with the Grand Final scheduled for Sunday, February 12.

Round 1: Sunday, November 6, Adelaide United v Victory, Coopers Stadium, 2.30pm
Round 2: Sunday, November 13, Victory v Newcastle Jets, Lakeside Stadium, 4.00pm
Round 3: Sunday, November 20, Victory v Sydney FC, Lakeside Stadium, 4.00pm
Round 4: Sunday, November 27 Melbourne City v Victory, AAMI Park, 2.30pm
Round 5: Sunday, December 4, Victory v Perth Glory, Lakeside Stadium, 4.00pm
Round 6: Sunday, December 11, Victory v Western Sydney Wanderers, Lakeside Stadium, 4.00pm
Round 7: Friday, December 16, Newcastle Jets v Victory, Hunter Stadium, 5.20pm
Round 8: Bye    
Round 9: Wednesday, December 28, Victory v Canberra United, AAMI Park, 5.20pm
Round 10: Sunday, January 1, Brisbane Roar v Victory, Dunmore Park, 5.00pm
Round 11: Sunday, January 8, Perth Glory v Victory, Dorien Gardens 7.00pm
Round 12: Sunday, January 15, Victory v Melbourne City, Epping Stadium, 4.00pm
Round 13: Bye    
Round 14: Saturday, January 28, Canberra United v Victory, McKellar Park, 4.00pm

All times are AEDT.