Women’s Match Preview: Crucial Clash in Top Four Race

Melbourne Victory head north this weekend to take on Brisbane Roar in a game with significant ramifications for the finals race.

Victory returned to winning ways last time out by securing a hard-fought 3-1 win over Western Sydney Wanderers.

Alex Chidiac starred again in the game, scoring and assisting to guide her side to their sixth win of the campaign.

Victory now have a six-point lead over fifth place on the A-League Women’s ladder, however, it is this week’s opponents who occupy that position of the nearest challenger.

The Roar also have a game in hand, meaning a positive result on Saturday is essential if Jeff Hopkins’ side are to continue holding off the chasing pack.

Brisbane are coming off the back of an impressive result of their own, winning away in Adelaide thanks to a single late goal.

The previous four clashes between Victory and Roar have seen an average of over six goals scored per game.

Throw in the potential return of Melina Ayres after Catherine Zimmerman’s successful comeback last week, and there is plenty for Victory fans to look forward to this weekend.

Recent history against Roar

Plenty of goals and an even share of the spoils in recent meetings suggests this weekend’s game is bound to be must-watch.

2021/22, January 2: Victory 2-4 Roar
2021/22, December 18: Roar 2-3 Victory
2020/21, April 4 (SF): Roar 2-6 Victory
2020/21, January 22: Roar 6-0 Victory
2020/21, January 3: Victory 0-0 Roar

Melbourne Victory Squad

1.Casey DUMONT, 2. Tiffany ELIADIS, 3.Claudia BUNGE, 5.Jessika NASH, 6.Beattie GOAD, 8.Alana MURPHY, 9.Catherine ZIMMERMAN, 10.Alex CHIDIAC, 11.Natalie TATHEM, 13.Sarah ROWE, 14.Melina AYRES, 15.Amy JACKSON, 16.Paige ZOIS, 17.Maja MARKOVSKI 18.Kayla MORRISON, 19.Lia PRIVITELLI, 20.Miranda TEMPLEMAN, 21.Elise KELLOND-KNIGHT, 22.Ava BRIEDIS, 23.Emily KOS

In: 13.Sarah ROWE (promoted), 14.Melina AYRES (returns from injury), 22.Ava BRIEDIS (promoted), 23.Emily KOS (promoted)

Out: nil

Unavailable: 7.Gema SIMON (injured)

Match Details

Liberty A-League Round 14
Brisbane Roar v Melbourne Victory
Saturday 11 February
Kick-off: 3:00pm (AEDT)
Perry Park, Brisbane