Y-League report: Victory 1-1 Glory


Melbourne Victory was held to a 1-1 draw by Perth Glory in the Foxtel Y-League on Saturday.


Trent Ostler gave Glory a first-half lead at Lakeside Stadium, but Yazid Said scored his second goal of the season to earn Victory a point in the Conference A clash.

Victory enjoyed the better of the second half, but was unable to find a winner despite its dominance.

Perth settled the quicker of the two teams and Ostler went close to an opener in the 12th minute, rattling the crossbar.

But moments after Said threatened for Victory, Ostler put Glory ahead, finding the bottom corner from 25 yards.

Victory responded by dominating the rest of the half, albeit without finding an equaliser.

Birkan Kirdar forced two good saves from Glory goalkeeper Jackson Lee, who then smothered at the feet of Nicholas Sette after the forward was played in by Brandon Lauton.

Victory goalkeeper Matthew Sutton made a remarkable triple save early in the second half to deny Perth.

As Glory looked dangerous on the counter-attack, Victory equalised with 19 minutes remaining.

Substitute Jack Palazzolo did superbly down the right before cutting back for Said, whose scuffed finish eventually went in.

Victory looked the more likely in the closing stages, but it was unable to find a winner.

Head coach Gareth Naven’s post-match thoughts

“I thought the last 20 minutes of the first half we started to understand that the contest is really important in this match and up until then, I thought it wasn’t really important to us. Leading into the second half, we were more competitive and did a very good job of getting back to 1-1 and creating some opportunities where we could’ve scored and taken the lead 2-1 or 3-1.

“It’s important our youth players understand that we have a good effort, our attitude is right, because it’s the foundation of everything, absolutely everything. And we need to do that more often than less often.”


Foxtel Y-League 2018/19 Round 2
Melbourne Victory 1
(Yazid Said 71′)
Perth Glory 1 (Trent Ostler 28′)

Victory: Matthew Sutton (gk); Daniel Aye (Matthew Bozinovski 70′), Benjamin Carrigan (c), Luke Goulding, So Nishikawa; Thierry Iradukunda; Brandon Lauton, Birkan Kirdar, Rahmat Akbari; Nicholas Sette (Jack Palazzolo 55′), Yazid Said.