Young guns re-sign for Victory


Melbourne Victory is pleased to announce that Melina Ayres and Grace Maher have re-signed with the club for the Westfield W-League 2019/20 season.

Ayres and Maher, both 20, recommit having joined Victory in 2017 and 2018 respectively, and both first represented the Young Matildas in 2016.

Maher signs another one-year deal after joining from Canberra United where she spent four seasons and started in the 2014 Championship winning side.

Ayres, who won the NAB Young Footballer of the Year during her breakout 2017/18 season with Victory, will continue to develop her game under the tutelage of Melbourne Victory Head Coach, Jeff Hopkins.

Melbourne Victory Head Coach, Jeff Hopkins said that Ayres and Maher will add depth to the squad.

“Securing two young talents like Melina and Grace is a fantastic result for the club,” said Hopkins.

“I’ve enjoyed seeing Melina grow each season and to be able to personally help her develop her game further is something I’m looking forward to.

“Grace is a creative midfielder and has already developed a lot since arriving at Victory, and I expect that growth to continue this season.

“Both girls are ready to make their mark on the W-League competition and are very capable of helping Victory achieve more success with the experiences they’ve had already at such a young age.”

Current Melbourne Victory W-League squad:
Teigen ALLEN, Melina AYRES, Angela BEARD, Laura BROCK, Casey DUMONT, Natasha DOWIE, Alexandra GUMMER, Annalie LONGO, Melissa MAIZELS, Grace MAHER, Jenna McCORMICK, Lia PRIVITELLI