ACL Wrap: Ulsan 6-2 Victory


Melbourne Victory bowed out of the AFC Champions League following a 6-2 defeat to Ulsan Hyundai on Wednesday night.

A goalkeeping error from Lawrence Thomas gifted Ulsan the first goal of the game in the 12th minute.

The hosts then doubled their lead eight minutes later, when Lim Jong-eun volleyed his effort past Thomas from close range.

In the 38th minute, Ulsan’s Mislav Orsic found space on the edge of the penalty area and hit the back of the net via the inside of the post.

During the break, Kevin Muscat made two changes, with Kenny Athiu and Jai Ingham replacing Besart Berisha and Stefan Nigro.

Ten minutes into the second half, Kim Seung-Jun made it 4-0 to Ulsan – despite Leigh Broxham’s best efforts.

Thomas was well positioned to deny Junior his second goal of the match and pulled off a good save from point-blank range in the 65th minute.

However, Junior headed home Ulsan’s fifth with his next effort just minutes later.

Victory scored a consolation goal in the 72nd minute, thanks to a low cross by Kosta Barbarouses which was met by the substitute Athiu.

Two minutes later, Barbarouses bagged one for his personal tally – volleying the ball through the Ulsan goalkeeper, making it 5-2.

Orsic then scored the eighth goal of the game, thanks to a deflection off Athiu – giving Thomas no chance of denying Ulsan’s sixth.

The full-time whistle signalled Ulsan’s place in the next round of the AFC Champions League and Melbourne Victory’s exit from the competition.

Key moment

What Kevin Muscat said…

“The game didn’t go accordingly right from the start. It became too much of a mountain to climb and obviously we’re disappointed.

“It was a difficult night for us all over the park. I’m disappointed for the group. We came here with very good intentions and there was a lot of fight towards the end, but it wasn’t to be.”


AFC Champions League 2018 Matchday 5

Ulsan Hyundai 6 (Junior 12’ 67’, Il-Su 20’, Orsic 38’ 75’, Seung-Jun 55’)

Melbourne Victory 2 (Athiu 72’, Barbarouses 74’)

Ulsan Hyundai: 21 Seong-Hoon (gk), 4 Min-Soo, 5 Jong-Eun, 9 Orsic (32 Yeong-Jae 81’), 11 Il-Su (7 In-Sung 68’), 13 Myung-Jae (22 Dong-Ho 74’), 19 Seung-Jun, 27 Chang-Soo, 30 Junior, 33 Joo-Hoo, 40 Windbichler.

Melbourne Victory: 20 Thomas (gk), 6 Broxham, 8 Berisha (7 Athiu 45’), 9 Barbarouses, 10 Troisi (31 Theoharous 72’), 14 Deng, 16 Hope, 17 Donachie, 21 Valeri (c), 22 Nigro (23 Ingham 45’), 41 George.

Yellow Cards: Valeri 27’, Seong-Hoon 42’

Venue: Ulsan Munsu Football Stadium

Next up…

This Sunday Melbourne Victory return to AAMI Park for Round 26 of the Hyundai A-League, where they will entertain Wellington Phoenix.