Victory downed by Jets in Newcastle


Melbourne Victory suffered a 2-0 loss to the Newcastle Jets in the Hyundai A-League on Saturday.


Despite having numerous chances at McDonald Jones Stadium, Victory was beaten after goals from Nigel Boogaard and Riley McGree.

The loss was Victory’s second straight and left it in fourth on the table.

Victory made a strong start away from home, but the Jets had the first real opportunity, Roy O’Donovan heading wide from close range in the 17th minute.

Kosta Barbarouses almost opened the scoring for Victory moments later, but the in-form winger’s powerful effort was well saved by Jack Duncan.

Victory had another great chance, only for Rhys Williams’ side-footed effort from inside the area following a Terry Antonis set-piece to go just wide.

Instead, it was the Jets who took the lead on the half-hour mark, Boogaard glancing a header into the corner from Dimitri Petratos’ set-piece delivery from the left.

Victory went close to equalising just prior to the break, but Duncan made a wonderful one-handed save to deny Besart Berisha after the striker was put in behind by James Troisi.

The visitor again almost levelled shortly after the interval, an O’Donovan header tipped onto the crossbar by Duncan.

After Victory goalkeeper Lawrence Thomas was substituted following a heavy collision, Berisha – while laying on the ground – and Barbarouses, who was denied by Duncan, went close.

Berisha continued to threaten, almost managing to put away a Leroy George set-piece in the 69th minute.

But the Jets doubled their lead and sealed their win moments later, McGree tapping in an Andrew Nabbout cross despite the best efforts of Matt Acton.

Victory’s missed chances continued after that, Berisha firing wide and Leigh Broxham hitting the crossbar with a header.

Player in focus


Hyundai A-League 2017/18 Round 19
Newcastle Jets 2
(Nigel Boogaard 31′, Riley McGree 70′)
Melbourne Victory 0

Newcastle Jets: Duncan (gk), Hoffman, Boogaard (c), Topor-Stanley, Jackson (Vujica 67′), Ugarkovic, Kantarovski, Petratos, Rodriguez (Brown 88′), O’Donovan (McGree 65′), Nabbout
Melbourne Victory: Thomas (gk) (Acton 56′), Sanchez (Ingham 78′), Donachie, Williams, Broxham, Valeri (c), Antonis, Troisi, Barbarouses, Berisha, Theoharous (George 65′)

Yellow cards: Kantarovski 45+2′, Topor-Stanley 45+2′, Nabbout 51′
Red cards: Nil
Attendance: 11,473
Venue: McDonald Jones Stadium

Next up

Victory is at home in Round 20, hosting Brisbane Roar at AAMI Park on Friday, February 9. Tickets available here.